HBS Competes in MBA Games

Last weekend, twelve HBS students traveled to Durham, North Carolina to participate in the 2002 Duke MBA Games. The Duke MBA Games were founded in 1989 when a group of Fuqua students decided to invite their friends from other top business schools to Durham to enjoy the warm spring weather and, most importantly, help raise money for Special Olympics of North Carolina. MBA Games, one of the largest multi-business school events in the nation, has raised over $1.1 million for North Carolina Special Olympics since its inception through business school participation and corporate sponsorships. The 2002 Duke MBA Games raised $100,000 for North Carolina Special Olympics.

The weekend activities included a 5K run, golf tournament, scavenger hunt and full day of picnic competitions including the Briefcase Toss, Obstacle Course and Basketball Shoot-out. After disappointing results in recent history (translation: last place), this year’s HBS team ranked 5th out of eleven schools. Although Michigan was the 2002 MBA Games champion, HBS defeated the tough Wolverine team in the all-important Tug-of-War. After the dust settled, HBS placed first or second in the Business Attire Swim Relay, Briefcase Toss and Tug-of-War. More importantly, good times were had by all who participated.

The event provided the HBS team an opportunity to meet students from other top business schools, show off its athletic talents (or lack thereof) and support a worthy cause-Special Olympics. Next year represents a turning point in HBS’ commitment to MBA Games; this year’s team hopes that more students will get involved next spring during this fun-filled weekend of competition and rewarding philanthropy.

Participating schools this year included Fuqua (Duke), Wharton (U of Penn), Tuck (Dartmouth), Sloan (MIT), Columbia, Georgetown, Michigan, Cornell, Darden (UVA), Kenan-Flagler (UNC) and HBS. Congratulations to the HBS team for a turn-around performance! Thanks to Alex Adler (OF), Chike Obianwu (OB), Claudio Knizek (NB), Daniel Ogbonna (NF), Edrienne Brandon, Wesley Brandon, Wayne Taitt (OF), Mike Shangkuan (OF), Kola Otitoju (OF), Bettina Whelan (OG), Brian Landrum (NK) and Beth Shapiro (NE).